Home > Uncategorized > Loving What You Do

Loving What You Do

November 15, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

On Friday evenings I often attend an awesome event at my church — a coffeehouse concert where many of the best musicians in town perform.  There is no admission fee (although donations are welcome and I donate cookies whenever I attend) and it is both smoke and alcohol free.  Last Friday, at starting time, there were only three of us in the audience:  me, the pastor of our church and the intern who sets everything up (eventually there were almost twenty of us).  Nonetheless, the musicians began playing amazing music.  This got me thinking about loving what you do.

If I were to give advice to anyone embarking on a new business,  I’d say that the most important thing is to love your product.  When I was actively selling cookie dough, I had to be excited and positive about my product all the time – even when grocers and others told me that my product would never sell.  When I walk into a library and see all the great books that have already been written, I’m certain that it’s not my place to add to the plethora.  Then I go home and start writing because I love to do it.  Those musicians on Friday night love playing music enough that it didn’t matter to them that the room was nearly empty when they began.

Well, it’s Sunday, so I feel free to be a bit preach-y with you – I believe God gives us this deep desire to do what we love in order to push us to share our gifts.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

